Express your own time
1925-1953 Upsetting the theatrical balance

Upsetting the theatrical balance

 “…Harmony in art – this is the greatest worry, manifest completely…”

 
Anatoly Vasiliyevich Efros was born in Kharkov on 3rd July, 1925 into a family of aircraft factory workers. His mother, Lidiya Solomonovna, was a technical translator; his father, Isaak Vasiliyevich, was a planner and builder. 
 
“…One day I came back to Kharkov, where I was born. I arrived after forty years of living in Moscow. I always had memories of the street where I once lived, and of the yard, and of the steep hill where I went sledding. I even dreamed about it often – the yard, the garden, the steep hill, the window. But now I was walking along that street and didn’t recognize anything. And didn’t feel anything. I was even ashamed. And all of a sudden, it was as though something hit me in the chest. And I unexpectedly started sobbing at myself. It was then that I recognized the yard, and hill, and my window. I was shaking so much that a stranger came up to me and tried to calm me down. I could hardly control myself…”
 
In the middle of the thirties, the family moved to Moscow. In the evacuation during the Great Patriotic War/World War II, Efros worked as a machinist in an aircraft factory in Perm. It was also there that, from 1943 onwards, he began to visit classes in the studio of K. N. Voinov, and then in the acting studio of Y. A. Zavalskiy in the Mossoviet Theatre. In 1945, he immediately applied as a second-year student to GITIS' directing department (for N. V. Petrov and M. O. Knebel’s course).
 
In 1951, he directed his diploma show, “Prague Remains Mine” by Y. A. Buryakovskiy in the Railwaymen’s House of Culture, followed by “Please Come to Zvonkovoye” by A. Korneychuk in the A. N. Ostrovsky Moscow Regional Drama Theatre.
 
In 1952 he was enrolled as “just another director” in the Ryazansky Oblast Drama Theatre. Within two seasons, he directed eight shows: “Spring Love,” by K. Trenev; “The Dog in the Manger,” by Lope de Vega; “Love at Dawn,” by Y. Galan; “The Ardent Heart,” by A. N. Ostrovskiy; “Maiden-Beauties,” by A. Simukov; “Stones in the Oven,” by A. Makaenok; “When Spears Break,” by N. F. Pogodin; and "Stepmother,” by O. Balzac. 
 
“…I was completely under the influence of the Art Theatre’s shows, in the same exact way as many others who came into the art during those years. “Three Sisters” stood in front of your eyes with all their details and minutiae. I wanted to stage “Dog in the Snow” exactly like “The Marriage of Figaro.” But in my own show, “Hot Heart” (I directed it after I finished the institute, in Ryazan) I wanted to literally recreate the design of the Art Theatre. At that time, I learned Stanislavsky by heart; I could have discerned when, where, and what he said…”

Photos, Video, Audio

Photogallery

In Theatre

The Ardent Heart 1952, Ryazan Regional Dramatic Theatre
Love at Dawn 1952, Ryazan Regional Dramatic Theatre
Lyubov Yarovaya 1952, Ryazan Regional Dramatic Theatre
Maiden-Beauties 1953, Ryazan Regional Dramatic Theatre

People

Express your own time
© 2015. «Dmitry Krymov Lab». All rights reserved.
Website made by ICO

Выразить свое время
1925-1953 Нарушить театральное спокойствие

Нарушить театральное спокойствие

 “...Гармония в искусстве — это величайшее беспокойство, выраженное совершенно...”

Анатолий Васильевич Эфрос родился в городе Харькове 3 июля 1925 г. в семье служащих авиационного завода. Мама - Лидия Соломоновна – была техническим переводчиком, отец - Исаак Васильевич – плановиком-конструктором.

“...Однажды я приехал в Харьков, где родился. Приехал после сорока лет жизни в Москве. У меня были постоянные воспоминания об улице, где я когда-то жил, и о дворе, и о крутой горке, с которой я съезжал вниз на санках. Мне даже все это во сне часто снилось — двор, сад, крутая горка, окно. Но теперь я шел по этой улице и ничего не узнавал. И ничего не чувствовал. Было даже досадно. И вдруг как будто что-то ударило меня в грудь. И я неожиданно для самого себя громко зарыдал. Это я вдруг узнал и двор, и горку, и свое окно. Я так трясся, что подошла чужая женщина и стала меня успокаивать. Я еле справился с собой...”

В середине 30-х гг. семья переехала в Москву. Во время Великой Отечественной войны в эвакуации Эфрос работал слесарем авиационного завода в Перми. Там же с 1943 года посещал занятия сначала в студии К. Н. Воинова, затем в актерской студии Ю. А. Завадского при театре им. Моссовета. В 1945 году поступил сразу на второй курс режиссерского факультета ГИТИСа (мастерская Н. В. Петрова и М. О. Кнебель).

В 1951г. поставил дипломный спектакль «Прага остается моей» Ю. А. Буряковского в театре ЦДКЖ, а затем спектакль «Приезжайте в Звонковое» А. Корнейчука в Московском областном драматическом театре им. А. Н. Островского. В 1952 г. был зачислен по распределению в штат Рязанского областного драматического театра очередным режиссером. За два сезона поставил восемь спектаклей: «Любовь Яровая» К. Тренева, «Собака на сене» Лопе де Вега, «Любовь на рассвете» Я. Галана, «Горячее сердце» А. Н. Островского, «Девицы-красавицы» А. Симукова, «Камни в печени» А. Макаенка, «Когда ломаются копья» Н. Ф. Погодина, «Мачеха» О. Бальзака.

“...Точно так же, как и многие другие, пришедшие в искусство в определенные годы, я был полностью под влиянием спектаклей Художественного театра. «Три сестры» стояли перед глазами со всеми подробностями и мелочами. Мне хотелось «Собаку на сене» поставить так, как поставлена «Женитьба Фигаро». А в своем спектакле «Горячее сердце» (я поставил его после института в Рязани) хотелось буквально повторить рисунок Художественного театра. Я в это время выучивал Станиславского наизусть, мог бы определить, когда, где и что он сказал...”

Фото, Видео, Аудио

Фотогалерея

В театре

Прага остается моей 1950, Театр Центрального дома культуры железнодорожников
Горячее сердце 1952, Рязанский областной драматический театр
Любовь на рассвете 1952, Рязанский областной драматический театр
Любовь Яровая 1952, Рязанский областной драматический театр
Девицы-красавицы 1953, Рязанский областной драматический театр

Лица

Выразить свое время

© 2015. «Лаборатория Дмитрия Крымова». Все права защищены.
Создание сайта — ICO