Upsetting the theatrical balance
The beauty of the present moment
1953-1963 Express your own time

Express your own time

“…From childhood we’re crazy about the fact that art isn’t simply work. The history of Russian theatre is such, that we believe our work to be holy. We worship it. We are raised on the books of Stanislavsky and Vakhtangov. But they didn’t simply work in the theatre – they created it, they lived in it, they raised their children in it. They built themselves a church…”
 
In 1953, Anatoly Efros married Natalia Krymova, and on 10 October 1954, they gave birth to a son, Dmitriy Krymov.
In 1953, M. O. Knebel and K. Y. Shakh-Azizov invite Efros as a director to the Central Children’s Theatre.
 
“…The best day of my life was, of course, the day when I was accepted into the Central Children’s Theatre.
Before that, I worked in Ryazan, and all of a sudden – Sverdlov Square, the Bolshoi Theatre visible through the windows. A huge auditorium, beautiful rehearsal rooms, famous actors. 
The whole year, looking the theatre over as I walked by, I thought: Is it really possible that I’m working here? How beautiful was that surprise at and pride in the place where you work…”
 
Anatoly Efros’ ten-year tenure at the Central Children’s Theatre was a turning point in the history of  our country’s theatre: the appearance of V. S. Rozov’s plays ushered in the appearance of an absolutely new subject matter on the stage for its time – the voice of the younger generation, the voice of youth, demanding and asking questions – resounding for the first time in Soviet theatre. And it was the particular incarnation of this dramaturgy in Anatoly Efros’ shows that raised this subject to an all-time height.
 
Efros directed four of Rozov’s plays during this period: “Good Luck!”, “In Search of Happiness,” “Unequal Battle,” and “Before Supper;” he also worked with other contemporary authors: “Borrowed Part,” by S. V. Mikhailkov, “The Three of Us Went to the Virgin Lands,” by N. F. Pogodin; “A Tale about Tales” by A. Zak and I. Kuznetsov; “Free Masters,” by Z. Danovskaya; “Kolka, My Friend!” by A. Khmelik; “Former Boys” by N. Ivanter; “The Wishing Flower” by V. Kataev; and “Them and Us,” by N. Dolinina. He then turned to the classics, having directed “Boris Godunov,” by A. S. Pushkin, and “Marriage,” by N. V. Gogol.
 
He began teaching in a studio at the Central Children’s Theatre. He actively took part in the creation of the Studio for Young Actors, later to become the studio-theatre “Sovremennik,” and there in 1958 he directed “Anyone,” by E. de Filippo. 
Apart from this, he directed “Hedda Gabler,” by H. Ibsen, in the Film Actors’ Studio-Theatre, and two shows in the Ermolova Theatre: “The Visions of Simone Machard,” by L. Feikhtvanger and B. Brecht, and “Away and at Home” by A. M. Volodin.
 
In 1961, the film “Noisy Day,” directed by Anatoly Efros and Grigoriy Natanson, came out, based on the Rozov play “In Search of Happiness.”
In 1962 Efros worked on the film “Leap Year,” and then in 1963 both worked on “Twins on the Steppe” and wrote a screenplay based on the A. P. Chekhov play, “The Seagull,” in the hopes of filming it. 
 
“…When the Rozov shows were playing, we were often told in the Central Children’s Theatre that their form was amorphous, that we were imitating MXAT. We got angry: what “form?” There is spontaneity and naturalness, there is nature. The natural psychological immediacy; the cult of the living, the often accidental; improvisation; freedom of movement onstage – and no magic…

In Theatre

Good Luck! 1954, Central Children’s Theatre
Hedda Gabler 1957, Theatre – Studio of Cinemactors
No one 1958, Sovremennik
My friend Kolka! 1959, Central children's theatre
Former Boys 1960, Central Children’s Theatre

People

Other Life

Upsetting the theatrical balance
The beauty of the present moment
© 2015. «Dmitry Krymov Lab». All rights reserved.
Website made by ICO

Нарушить театральное спокойствие
Прелесть настоящей минуты
1953-1963 Выразить свое время

Выразить свое время

“...Мы с детства помешаны на том, что искусство — это не просто работа. История русского театра такова, что мы считаем свою работу святой. Мы обожествляем ее. Мы воспитаны на книгах Станиславского и Вахтангова. А они не просто работали в театре, — они его создавали, они в нем жили, растили в нем своих детей. Они строили свой храм...”
 
В 1953 году Анатолий Эфрос женился на Наталье Крымовой, 10 октября 1954 году у них родился сын Дмитрий Крымов.
В 1953 году М. О. Кнебель и К. Я. Шах-Азизов приглашают Эфроса на должность режиссера Центрального детского театра.
 
“...Самым хорошим днем в моей жизни был, конечно, день, когда я был принят в Центральный детский театр. До этого я работал в Рязани, и вдруг — площадь Свердлова, в окна виден Большой театр. Огромный зал, прекрасные репетиционные комнаты, знаменитые артисты. Целый год, проходя мимо театра и посматривая на него, я думал: «Неужели вот тут я работаю?» Как прекрасны и это удивление и эта гордость местом, где ты служишь...”
 
Десятилетие службы Анатолия Эфроса в Центральном детском театре – поворотный момент в истории отечественного театра: появление драматургии В.С.Розова ознаменовало собой появление на сцене абсолютно новой для своего времени тематики – голос молодого поколения, голос юности, требовательный и задающий вопросы – зазвучал в советском театре впервые. И именно воплощение этой драматургии в спектаклях А.В.Эфроса поднимало эту тему на небывалую высоту. Четыре спектакля поставил Эфрос по розовским пьесам в этот период: «В добрый час!», «В поисках радости», «Неравный бой», «Перед ужином» работал и с другими современными авторами: «Чужая роль» С. В. Михалкова,  «Мы втроем поехали на целину» Н.Ф.Погодина, «Сказка о сказках» А. Зака, И. Кузнецова, «Вольные мастера» З. Дановской, «Друг мой, Колька!» А. Хмелика, «Бывшие мальчики» Н. Ивантер, «Цветик-семицветик» В. Катаева, «Они и мы» Н. Долининой.
 
Обращался к классике, поставив «Бориса Годунова» А. С. Пушкина и «Женитьбу» Н. В. Гоголя, начал преподавать в студии при Центральном детском театре. Принял активное участие в создании Студии молодых актеров, ставшей позднее театром - студией “Современник” и в 1958- м году поставил там спектакль «Никто» по пьесе Э. Де Филиппо. 
 
Кроме этого поставил «Гедду Габлер» Г. Ибсена в театре-студии Киноактера и два спектакля  в театре им. М. Н. Ермоловой: «Сны Симоны Машар» Л. Фейхтвангера и Б. Брехта и «В гостях и дома» А. М. Володина. В 1961 г. на экраны вышел художественный фильм «Шумный день», снятый Анатолием Эфросом и Григорием Натансоном по пьесе В. С. Розова «В поисках радости». В 1962 году  Эфрос работал над фильмом «Високосный год», а в 1963-м – над фильмом «Двое в степи» и писал сценарий по пьесе А. П. Чехова «Чайка», мечтая снять ее в кино.
 
“...Когда шли розовские спектакли, нам в Центральном детском часто говорили, что форма их аморфна, что мы эпигоны МХАТ. Мы злились: какая форма? Есть непосредственность и естественность, есть природа. Естественная психологическая непосредственность, культ живого, часто случайного, импровизация, свобода сценического поведения — и никаких фокусов...” 

Фото, Видео, Аудио

Фотогалерея

В театре

В добрый час! 1954, Центральный детский театр
Гедда Габлер 1957, Театр-студия киноактера
Никто 1958, Театр-студия "Современник"
Друг мой, Колька! 1959, Центральный детский театр
Бывшие мальчики 1960, Центральный детский театр

Лица

Вне театра

Нарушить театральное спокойствие
Прелесть настоящей минуты

© 2015. «Лаборатория Дмитрия Крымова». Все права защищены.
Создание сайта — ICO