Art to understand art
The world should be good
1977-1984 One mustn’t stop

One mustn’t stop

“…In directing, everything you say means almost nothing. It’s only a thought, even if it’s true. And the actor, even if he comprehends it, won’t play it all the same. Because it’s impossible to play a thought; it will be a far-too-common nothing. You’ve got to find a concrete expression of the thought and the feeling – very concrete. All the while not losing the common feeling, or even the common thought. Think everything over, and then pretend as if you’ve forgotten everything and put something concrete together on stage…”
 
Anatoly Efros remained “just-another-director” at the Moscow Drama Theatre on Malaya Bronnaya until March 1984. He directed “The Veranda in the Woods,” by I. M. Dvoretskiy; “Don Juan: The Sequel,” by E. S. Radzinskiy; “The Road,” by V. Balyasniy (after the poem “Dead Souls,” by N. V. Gogol); “Summer and Smoke,” by T. Williams; “Reminiscence,” by A. N. Arbuzov; “The Outsider,” by I. M. Dvoretsky (in a new, cut version); “Three Sisters,” by A. P. Chekhov; “Napoleon the First,” by F. Bruckner; and “The Theatre Director,” by I. M. Dvoretsky. 
 
He continued to work extensively in television – the teleplays “Islands in the Ocean,” by E. Hemingway, “Then Comes Silence,” “Romeo and Juliet,” and “A Month in the Country;” on the radio, the radio plays “The Stranger,” by A. Blok; “A Feast in Time of Plague,” by A. S. Pushkin; “The Life of Mr. de Molière,” by M. A. Bulgakov (in which chapters from the novel are read by A. Efros); “The Stone Guest,” by A. S. Pushkin; and “Mozart and Salieri,” by A. S. Pushkin.
 
In 1979, Efros’ film “On Thursday and Never Again” was released. 
 
“…At some point, while reading the letters of the impressionists or “The Diaries of the Theatre Director” by Antoine, I dreamed of working on my own creative work from morning til night, like them. I envied their frost. Like that – through the frost I fulfilled my quota, it seemed…"
 
At MXAT, A. V. Efros staged “Tartuffe,” by Molière, and “The Living Corpse,” by L. N. Tolstoy; in the Pushkin Museum, as part of the festival “December Evenings,” he staged “The Tempest,” by W. Shakespeare; and with his students at GITIS, “Hot and Cold, or Mr. Dom’s Idea,” by F. Krommelynck.
 
From 1978 he worked abroad: he staged “The Marriage” and “Molière, or the Cabal of Hypocrites“ at the Guthrie Theatre (Minneapolis, USA); “The Cherry Orchard” and “Natasha,” after Turgenev’s play “A Month in the Country,” in the Toen Theatre (Tokyo, Japan); “The Cherry Orchard” in the Finnish National Theatre (Helsinki, Finland). In 1979, the publisher “Iskusstvo" released his book “Profession: Director.”
 

“…When creative work goes well, when the goal is clear, people are on friendly terms. When one or another artistic difficulty begins, the people of the theatre not-infrequently fall into nervousness. And from just one of those, they perish like artists…” 

In Theatre

The Situation 1973, Moscow Dramatic Theatre on Malaya Bronnaya Street
The Veranda in the Woods 1978, Moscow Dramatic Theatre on Malaya Bronnaya Street
Summer and Smoke 1980, Moscow Dramatic Theatre on Malaya Bronnaya Street
Tartuffe 1981, Gorky Moscow Art Academic Theatre
Reminiscence 1981, Moscow Dramatic Theatre on Malaya Bronnaya Street
Natasha 1982, Toen Theatre. Tokyo, Japan
The Tempest 1983, The Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts
The Theatre Director 1984, Moscow Dramatic Theatre on Malaya Bronnaya Street

People

Other Life

Art to understand art
The world should be good
© 2015. «Dmitry Krymov Lab». All rights reserved.
Website made by ICO

Искусство понимать искусство
Мир должен быть добрым
1977-1984 Нельзя останавливаться

Нельзя останавливаться

“...В режиссуре все, что ты скажешь, еще почти ничего не значит. Это только мысль, пускай даже верная. И артист, даже если постигнет ее, все равно еще не сыграет. Потому что мысль сыграть невозможно, будет нечто слишком общее. Надо найти конкретное выражение мысли и чувства — очень конкретное. При этом общего чувства, да и общей мысли, конечно, не потеряв. Обдумать все, а потом все как будто забыть и на сцене выстроить нечто конкретное...”
 
Очередным режиссером Московского драматического театра на Малой Бронной Анатолий Эфрос продолжает оставаться до марта 1984-го года. Ставит спектакли «Веранда в лесу» И. М. Дворецкого, «Продолжение Дон Жуана» Э. С. Радзинского, «Дорога» В. Балясного (по поэме “Мертвые души” Н. В. Гоголя), «Лето и дым» Т. Уильямса, «Воспоминание» А. Н. Арбузова, «Человек со стороны» И. М. Дворецкого (новая сценическая редакция),  «Три сестры» А. П. Чехова ,«Наполеон Первый» Ф. Брукнера, «Директор театра» И. М. Дворецкого.
 
Продолжает много работать на телевидении - телеспектакли  «Острова в океане» Э. Хемингуэя,«Дальше — тишина» В. Дельмар, «Ромео и Джульетта» У. Шекспира, «Месяц в деревне» И. С. Тургенева и на радио – радиоспектакли «Незнакомка» А. Блока, «Пир во время чумы» А. С. Пушкина, «Жизнь господина де Мольера» М. А. Булгакова (главы из романа читает А. Эфрос), «Каменный гость» А.С.Пушкина, «Моцарт и Сальери» А. С. Пушкина. В 1979-м году на экраны выходит художественный фильм Анатолия Эфроса  «В четверг и больше никогда». 
 
“...Когда-то, читая письма импрессионистов или «Дневники директора театра» Антуана, я мечтал, подобно им, с утра до вечера заниматься творчеством. Я завидовал их терзаниям. Так вот — по линии терзаний я норму, кажется, выполнил...”
 
Во МХАТе СССР им. М. Горького А. В. Эфрос ставит спектакли «Тартюф» Ж.-Б. Мольера и «Живой труп» Л. Н. Толстого, в Музее изобразительных искусств им. А. С. Пушкина, в рамках фестиваля «Декабрьские вечера» -  “Бурю” У. Шекспира, со своими студентами в ГИТИСе им. А. В. Луначарского - “Идею господина Домма” Ф. Кроммелинка.
 
С 1978-го года  работает и в зарубежных театрах - «Женитьбу» Н. В. Гоголя и «Мольера» М. А. Булгакова ставит в Теате Гатри (Миннеаполис, США), «Вишневый сад» А. П. Чехова и «Наташу» по пьесе И. С. Тургенева «Месяц в деревне» в Театр еТоэн (Токио, Япония), «Вишневый сад» А. П. Чехова в Национальном  театре (Хельсинки, Финляндия).
 
В 1979-м году в издательстве “Искусство” выходит книга «Профессия: режиссер».
 
“...Когда творческая работа идет успешно, когда ясна цель, люди дружат. Когда начинаются те или иные художественные трудности, люди театра нередко впадают в нервозность. И от одного этого погибают как художники...” 

Фото, Видео, Аудио

24 марта 1982 года. Первый день занятий. Часть 1

В театре

Ситуация 1973, Московский драматический театр на Малой Бронной
Веранда в лесу 1978, Московский драматический театр на Малой Бронной
Продолжение Дон Жуана 1979, Московский драматический театр на Малой Бронной
Лето и дым 1980, Московский драматический театр на Малой Бронной
Вишневый сад 1981, Театр Тоэн (Токио)
Тартюф 1981, Московский Художественный Академический театр СССР им. Горького (МХАТ)
Воспоминание 1981, Московский драматический театр на Малой Бронной
Наташа 1982, Театр Тоэн (Токио)
Живой труп 1982, МХАТ
Буря 1983, Государственный музей изобразительных искусств им. А. С. Пушкина
Директор театра 1984, Московский драматический театр на Малой Бронной

Лица

Вне театра

Искусство понимать искусство
Мир должен быть добрым

© 2015. «Лаборатория Дмитрия Крымова». Все права защищены.
Создание сайта — ICO