Knebel Maria

Knebel Maria

Somehow I asked Maria Osipovna Knebel to read a part of these notes. Joking, she said that she only objected to one page. On that page I had described how, having argued with some actor, I gave him his directions via Maria Osipovna. Meanwhile, Ms. Knebel was my chief director.
 
“Is it possible,” she said, laughing, “that all you remember about me is that I was a good messenger?” But I’m not writing a memoir and, I admit, don’t even like to read them; I decided to write, after all, a “professional” book. And to not write anything about Knebel, except for that one page – that’s just ridiculous. All that so-called professionalism, you could say, came from her. But forget about professionalism. I remember a completely different side of our work– an ostensibly “unprofessional" side. I was then working in a small theatre, where the director was a single famous actor. When people showed him a scene, he would remain silent for ten minutes after the end of the showing, scaring everyone with a weighty pause, and then would declaim something that, compared to that silence, was surprisingly meaningless. Then I would tell myself: now remember, please, one simple rule for your entire life: don’t make a self-important face when you don’t have anything to say; and if you do indeed make such a face, then you’d better express some thought or another.
 
But why bring up Knebel here, you ask? Because in a different theatre – of which she was already the artistic director – whenever she was shown something, the final sentence of the excerpt or show wasn’t even finished when Knebel’s voice rang out, telling us what she did and didn’t like. And a beautiful analysis followed, before which really did come, let’s suppose, a very considerable and meaningful face. But it seemed to me that Maria Osipovna was even in childhood never taught to make such meaningful faces. A loaded pause after a showing probably seemed tactless to her. For everyone knows what it means to show your work to someone else,but not everyone wants to think about it when the conversation isn’t specifically about him.
 
It’s apparent that Maria Osipovna was raised otherwise. And this upbringing was passed on to her students, together with the knowledge of what professionalism means. But my God, how much more intelligent and subtle this professionalism turned out to be. Maria Osipovna specifically didn’t teach that. She was elegant in and of herself, and this elegance of hers infected her students no less than her beautiful lessons in her craft.

Chronicle

Other Life

Echo

Khmelik Aleksandr
Knoblok Boris
© 2015. «Dmitry Krymov Lab». All rights reserved.
Website made by ICO

Кнебель Мария Осиповна

Кнебель Мария Осиповна

Как-то я попросил Марию Осиповну Кнебель прочитать часть вот этих моих заметок. Шутя она сказала, что протестует только против одной странички. На этой страничке я описал, как, поссорившись с неким артистом, я передавал ему свои распоряжения через Марию Осиповну. Между тем М. О. Кнебель была тогда моим главным режиссером.
 
«Неужели, — сказала она смеясь, — все, что вы запомнили обо мне, — это то, что я была хорошим “передатчиком”»? Но я не пишу воспоминаний и даже, признаться, не люблю их читать — я решил написать всего лишь «профессиональную» книгу. И не написать о Кнебель ничего, кроме той странички, — просто нелепость. Ибо и вся так называемая профессиональность, можно сказать, тоже только от нее. Но бог с ней, с профессиональностью. Я вспоминаю совсем другую сторону нашей работы, совсем будто бы и не профессиональную. Я работал тогда в небольшом театре, где режиссером был один известный артист. Когда ему показывали какую-нибудь сцену, он после окончания показа минут десять молчал, пугая всех этой огромной напряженной паузой, а затем произносил что-то, что в сравнении с этим молчанием оказывалось удивительно незначительным. Тогда я говорил себе — вот запомни, пожалуйста, на всю жизнь одно простое правило: не делай важного лица, когда тебе нечего сказать, а уж если сделал такое лицо, то изволь действительно выразить некую мысль.
 
Но причем здесь Кнебель, спросите вы. А притом, что, когда в другом театре, которым руководила уже она, ей что-то показывали, — не успевала прозвучать последняя фраза отрывка или целого спектакля, как раздавался голос Кнебель, сообщающей нам, что понравилось ей и что не понравилось. И следовал такой прекрасный анализ, перед которым, ей-богу, был допустим даже очень значительный вид. Но Марию Осиповну, кажется, с самого детства не научили делать значительное лицо. Напряженная пауза после показа ей казалась, вероятно, какой-то высшей бестактностью. Ведь каждый знает, что такое показ своей работы другому, но не каждый хочет об этом думать, когда речь идет не о нем самом.
 

Мария Осиповна, видимо, воспитана иначе. И это воспитание передавалось ее ученикам вместе со всем тем, что называется профессионализмом. Но, Боже мой, насколько интеллигентнее и тоньше оказывался этот профессионализм. Мария Осиповна специально не учила этому. Она просто сама по себе внутренне изящна, и это ее изящество заражало студентов не меньше, чем ее прекрасные уроки самого ремесла. 

Летопись

Вне театра

Эхо

Каневский Леонид Семенович
Кноблок Борис Георгиевич

© 2015. «Лаборатория Дмитрия Крымова». Все права защищены.
Создание сайта — ICO